Tuesday, May 1, 2012

First Leg of ITF/CAT Regional Tennis Tournament Ends Successfully At Sadili


Shebani Kabura today grabbed the boys under 14 title from team mate Saidi Nkurunziza 6/1 6/3, in the finals of the first leg of the International Tennis Federation/Confederation of Africa Tennis ranked 14 and 12 and Under Tournament, currently being held at Sadili Oval Sports Academy in Langata, Nairobi, under auspices of the Kenya Lawn Tennis Association. Shebani, who has been a student of Malezi School and trains at Sadili Oval for the last 5 years, also partnered with Saidi to reach an all-Burundi Boys Under 14 final, where they lost narrowly in a tie break to Omari Mohammed and Shabani Kassalo 4/1 04 (9). Saidi had to fight past Kenyan Sheil Kotecha 7/5 2/6 7/5 in a closely contested quarterfinal, and team mate Shabani Kassalo (Burundi) 1/6 6/4 6/3 in the semi-finals to qualify for the final berth, while Shebani Kabura eased past Egill Sirgudsson (Iceland) 6/1 6/1 in the quarters, before meeting 6th seed Ernest Habiyambere (Rwanda and ITF Center Burundi), playing a tough semi-final match, where he floundered after a quick first set, eventually rallying to win 6/3 0/6 6/4.
Seychelles became the team to watch in the Boys Under 12 taking all top places. New sensation and newcomer, 10 year old Laporte Damien (Seychelles) thunder his way past all opposition to lift the Boys Under 12 category. Damien beat Geoffrey Ogega (Kenya) 6/0 6/4, and Emile Teja (Kenya) 7/5 6/3 to meet 1st seed Jonathan Mugisha (Burundi), beating him 6/4 6/3 in the final. Damien partnered with Sahun Adriamaro to give Seychelles the boys under 12 doubles , gold medal when they beat Emile Teja/Jonathan Mugisha 5/4 (5) 3/5 (3). In the Girls Under 12 final, Sneha Kotecha beat Aisha Niyonkuru 4/6 6/2 6/2 to give the first gold medal. Sneha then partnered with Aisha to take the girls doubles 5/4 (1) 4/0 against Saada Nahimana and Bitungwa Mwamini. The most unexpected development was when unseeded Annie Lord (Kenya) upset 4th seed Prudence Theuri (Kenya) 6/1 6/4 and Natalia Mburu (Kenya) 6/0 6/2 to reach the semifinals. The girls Under 14 singles had many more surprises, with seeds tumbling, including top seed Mariam Mujawimana (ITF Centre Burundi) who fell to third seed Amelie Boy (Mauritius) 3/6 3/6 in the semi-finals, and Adetunji Rotimi (Congo), who brought down second seed Chan Tam Neng Maelyn (Mauritius) 6/4 7/5 in the second semi-finals, setting up an exciting finals that saw Amelie take the Gold Medal 4/6 6/2 6/4 for Mauritius. Neng/Amelie also won the girls Under 14 finals beat Tonia Kubai/Cherryl Fuasso (Kenya) 4/1 4/5 (2). Kubai/Fuasso casued a major upset when they downed top seeds Mariam Mujawimana/Abigael Tate-Harte (ITF Centre) 4/2 5/3.
The second tournament also runs at Sadili Oval and is expected to end on Saturday 5th May 2012. A total of 114 participants from 9 countries are represented at the event and include Kenya, Tanzania, Burundi, ITF East Africa Centre, Rwanda, Congo, Zimbabwe, Mauritius and Republic of South Africa. Other entries who are also residents on Kenya include UK, Iceland and Ireland. Participants earn crucial CAT points and ranking.
So Far the Top Ten Rankings From The First Leg Are As Follows:
Boys Under 14: 1. Shebani Kabura (BUR) 2. Sadili Nkurunziza (BUR) 3. Shabani Kassalo (BUR) 4. Erneste Nabyambere (BUR) 5. Alosha Chikanda (ZIM) 6. Kassalo Omar (BDI) 7. Egil Sirgudsson (ICE) 8. Sheil Kotecha (KEN) 9. Jules Ndimwami (BUR) 10. Dean Dulthummon (MRI)
Girls Under 14: 1. Amelie Boy (MRI) 2. Adetunji Rotimi (Congo B) 3. Mariam Mujawimana (BUR) 4. Saada Nahimana (BDI) 5. Zara Lennon (MRI) 6. Cherryl Fuasso (KEN) 7. Chan Tam Neng Maelyn (MRI) 8. Sascha Taylor (KEN) 9. Abigail Tate Harte (KEN) 10. Tonia Kubai (KEN)
Boys Under 12: 1. Laporte Damien (SEY) 2. Jonathan Mugisha (BUR) 3. Keean Shah (KEN) 4. Emile Teja (KEN) 5. Geoffrey Ogega (KEN) 6. Ryan Randiek (KEN) 7. Jairus Olwanga (KEN) 8. Arjun Popat (KEN) 9. Shaun Andriamano (SEY) 10. David Matanda (KEN).
Girls Under 12: 1. Sneha Kotecha (KEN) 2. Aisha Niyonkuru (BUR) 3. Tayo Adetunji (CONGO B) 4. Annie Lord (KEN) 5. Esther Wahome (KEN) 6. Natalya Mburu 7. Tatiana Szapary (KEN) 8. Bianca Oyoo (KEN) 9. Takalani Moloao (RSA) 10. Alice Mbithe (KEN)

No comments:

Post a Comment